Skip to content

实现零碳设计的科学大楼,鼓励学生应用课堂所学技巧并且分享跨学科知识

布里斯托尔社区大学斯伯雷加健康与科学大楼

业主
布里斯托尔社区大学
位置
美国马萨诸塞州福尔里弗市
规模
4700平方米
Certification
零碳设计
专业领域
建筑
景观
额外服务
规划与城市设计
室内
现况
Completed July 2016
荣获奖项
Society for College and University Planning/American Institute of Architects Committee on Architecture for Education (SCUP/AIA-CAE), Honorable Mention for Excellence in Architecture for a New Building
USGBC Green Building Market Leadership Award in Energy Efficiency
American Institute of Architects, Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten Award
International Institute of Sustainable Laboratories, Go Beyond Award
Unilock Award of Excellence in Architectural Achievement
National Association of College and University Business Officers, Innovation Award
Community College Futures Assembly Bellwether Award Finalist
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Region 1 Award for Engineering Excellence
MA Department of Energy Resources, Leading by Example Award

斯伯雷加健康与科学大楼作为校园综合建筑,由科学与健康专业辖下众多学科共同使用,体现了基础科学在医疗保健专业上的不同应用层面。

大楼为科学专业,包括田间生物学、生物科技、微生物学和基础化学提供了灵活教学实验室和辅助空间。同时,大楼还为医疗保健等学科提供护理技术培训与模拟实验室、临床实验室科学与医疗辅助实验室以及牙科保健实验室与教学诊所;除教学用途外,诊所将同时服务于社区内的弱势群体。

大楼内各类设施环绕公共学习区排列。光线充足的公共区域如同学生的生活起居空间,不同学科的学生可以聚首一堂,在这里进行非正式的研究学习活动。实验室和中庭之间由玻璃立面分隔,这些玻璃立面由不透明写字板玻璃和透明玻璃组合而成,让人有机会一睹实验室里的情景,探索箇中科学趣味。

面积逾4,700平方米的建筑物不但要设置大量通风柜以及各种高压设备和仪器,还需要特别满足通风和照明要求,建筑物的能源需求因此十分庞大。同时,鉴于麻州政府规定所有州政府拥有的建筑必须符合LEED银级升级认证的要求,包括根据法规节省至少20%的能耗。种种因素促使我们必须从一开始就制定一系列节能措施,以“高效能”为概念来进行建筑设计。

项目因资金筹集需要曾一度在2012年暂停。虽然如此,作为《美国学院与大学校长气候承诺》(ACUPCC)的签署方,校方一直不遗余力推行各种措施,包括着手在校园建设产能达3.2兆瓦的光伏列阵,务求在2050年之前实现《承诺》中的碳中和目标。然而,原来以“高效能”为本的设计方案却需要利用50%的光伏列阵以及足够的天然气来为200户供暖,这种能源模型无法让校方按时实现上述减排目标。在这样的背景下,设计团队重新进行评估,建议校方投资发展“零碳设计(Zero Net Energy)”,意图通过在基地现场产生可再生能源来平衡全年的能耗。尽管策略已经成型,我们接下来要解决的便是在类似建成案例少之又少的情况下,在寒冷的气候下为能源需求庞大的建筑项目实现零碳设计。

我们为此展开一连串模拟、计算和研究工作,并与擅长先进建筑技术的制造商进行讨论,务求对各种可行方案进行测试。经过多番努力,我们最终制定的方案全面地整合了多种技术和策略,当中包括:大幅减少照明和插塞载荷需求,设计高效能的建筑外墙,设置自然通风系统,容许较大的室温范围,制定局部制冷措施,安装过滤式通风柜和空气质量感应器,减少换气次数,以及引入转轮式热回收系统和混合热泵系统;此外,落实强效的监控和验证措施也有助于确保这些技术和策略得以有效地持续运营。凭借这个设计方案,我们预期新建筑只要依赖不多于20%的光伏列阵便足够应付供暖和制冷需求,且过程中不需要任何化石燃料。更重要的是,零碳设计并不会产生额外造价,不但为校园的未来发展定下重要的准则,也为其它院校树立了良好的榜样。

想了解更多项目细节,请联系 Fiske Crowell.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki English

Skip to content

Create a Zero Net Energy lab science building where the application of classroom skills and the sharing of interdisciplinary knowledge converge

Bristol Community College John J. Sbrega Health and Science Building

Client
Bristol Community College
Location
Fall River, MA
Size
50,600 SF
Certifications
Zero Net Energy
Photographer
©Edward Caruso
Services
Architecture
Landscape Architecture
Additional Services
Planning and Urban Design
Interior Design
Status
Completed July 2016
Awards
Society for College and University Planning/American Institute of Architects Committee on Architecture for Education (SCUP/AIA-CAE), Honorable Mention for Excellence in Architecture for a New Building
USGBC Green Building Market Leadership Award in Energy Efficiency
American Institute of Architects, Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten Award
International Institute of Sustainable Laboratories, Go Beyond Award
Unilock Award of Excellence in Architectural Achievement
National Association of College and University Business Officers, Innovation Award
Community College Futures Assembly Bellwether Award Finalist
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Region 1 Award for Engineering Excellence
MA Department of Energy Resources, Leading by Example Award

The John J. Sbrega Health and Science Building is as a shared resource occupied by multiple disciplines within the Sciences and Health Professions disciplines at Bristol Community College.

The facility represents the translation of basic science to its application in the health professions. For the sciences, the building accommodates flexible instructional labs and support space for field biology, biotech, microbiology, and general chemistry. The health professions are represented by nursing skills and simulation labs, clinical laboratory science and medical assisting labs, dental hygiene labs and teaching clinic, which provides care to underserved populations.

These spaces are organized around a common, light-filled learning commons and student living room, meant to invite a broader set of users to the building as a place to study and otherwise learn in more informal ways. The walls separating lab spaces from the atrium are glazed, with a combination of opaque markerboard glass and clear glass, allowing for views into the labs and putting science on display.

The 50,600-square-foot building serves traditionally energy-dense uses, including a large number of fume hoods, high plug loads, and specific ventilation and lighting requirements. An initial basis of design called for a high-performance building with numerous energy-conservation measures in order to meet the requirement that state-owned buildings be Massachusetts LEED Silver Plus, including a minimum of 20% energy cost-reduction relative to code.

While the project paused for funding in 2012, the College intensified its ACUPCC commitment to carbon neutrality by 2050, initiating plans to build a site-based 3.2 megawatt solar array. This new context presented an opportunity to reassess the original “high-performance” design, which, according to the energy model, would not keep pace with BCC’s 2050 commitment, using at least 50% of the power generated by the solar array and enough natural gas to heat two hundred homes. The team made a strategic investment to develop a Zero Net Energy (ZNE) design, which would balance annual energy consumption with renewable energy generated on site. With few comparable built examples, the question was: how to achieve ZNE for an energy-dense program in a cold climate?

A number of options were tested using simulations, calculations, research, and discussions with manufacturers of advanced building technologies. Ultimately, a holistic combination of technologies and strategies were developed, including dramatically reduced lighting and plug loads, a high-performance envelope, natural ventilation systems, wider indoor temperature range, localized cooling, filtration fume hoods, air quality sensing, reduced air changes, enthalpy wheel heat recovery, and a hybrid-source heat pump system. Enhanced monitoring and verification will help to ensure efficient ongoing operation. The resultant design is projected to use less than 20% of the new array and no fossil fuels for heating and cooling. Significantly, the ZNE design was achieved without increasing the budget, serving as an important benchmark for future campus development and a model for other institutions.

For more information contact Fiske Crowell.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki 中文