Skip to content

Sasaki 于上海景观论坛分享观点

Mark Dawson, FASLA, landscape architect and principal, and Dou Zhang, ASLA, landscape architect and director of Sasaki’s Shanghai office recently attended the Shanghai Landscape Forum. The Forum, initiated by Sasaki, AECOM and SWA in 2017, and currently organized by the three founding companies as well as a group of leading international landscape architecture practices operating in China (also including ASPECT Studios, SOM, TLS) was held in May 10th in Shanghai.

Sasaki执行董事Mark Dawson先生和上海办公室总监张斗女士代表Sasaki参与了第三次上海景观论坛。此论坛于5月10日在上海举办,是由Sasaki, AECOM, SWA于2017年发起,目前由此三家公司与在中国开设办公室的多家国际性景观公司(还包括ASPECT Studios, SOM, TLS )共同参与组织。

张斗以「重新发掘乡村之美」为主题,以何斯路村景观规划项目作为一个典型案例讨论了景观在传承和发展传统文化之中的作用。

Dawson在论坛结束时致辞,他回顾了本次论坛的亮点, 并鼓励诸位同行更具批判性地审视景观中的文化遗产,并共同为将来文化重要的一部分努力。

以下文章为张斗女士演讲节录。

 

重新发掘乡村之美

中国的乡村面临着城市蔓延和人口下降带来的越来越多的挑战。人口下降显然和居民向城市的迁移密切相关——这是由城乡居住条件差距不断拉大而加剧的趋势。

这些收缩乡镇的行政领导开始寻找新颖的方法来倡导他们迷人的乡村环境和传统生活方式的价值。诚然,乡村旅游业,或“生态旅游”,发展非常迅速——特别在毗邻中国主要城市的地区。生态旅游给久居城市的人独特的机会来体验农村生活,同时也是乡村经济现代化的催化剂。

然而,这个蓬勃发展的产业带来利益的同时,也带来相当多的挑战。村庄如何在接待越来越多访客的同时保护它们的自然资源?增长的交通将会对地区基础设施造成什么样的通行负担,不利的损害要如何减轻?迄今为止,并没有万无一失的可持续途径来启动并促进生态旅游。为了非剥削式的长远的成功,规划师和设计师必须主导建立最佳的实践底线并为容纳峰值游客量预留公共空间。

 

何斯路村景观总体规划

如同许多中国的小型村落一样,何斯路村经历了几十年的穷困,迫使许多村民为了寻求更好的工作机会而移居到城市。2008年,新任村长何先生开始通过推广作为旅游吸引点的薰衣草产业为何斯路寻求更多关注。2015年,为了在旅游增长初步成功的基础上进一步有所建树,何先生委托Sasaki为村子未来空间和经济的发展创造一个整体规划。

我们开始了解何斯路的现状条件时发现,显然其自然环境和农业景观是真正独一无二的瑰宝。村庄的聚落格局是长久建立在其田园肌理之上,创造出一个乡村文化和生活方式的非凡展示。尊重和保护这底蕴丰厚的自然及建成环境对规划这个乡村的未来至关重要。

Sasaki的规划通过创造一个集生态、游憩、教育于一体的景观优美、乡村文化独特的目的地期许了一个“中国梦”(习近平主席在2012年提出的国家复兴口号)的何斯路版本。空间设计概念建立在这个愿景之上,讲述了四条故事线:山、水、花、村。设计联系并促进了区域内独特的景观要素,重新探索了作为精神遗产的村落文化,使得旅游能够作为村子主要的经济驱动。当地经济能进一步使村民维持现代生活方式并提高村庄的整体生活质量。

除了保护现有自然资源来减少可能的自然灾害,设计也充分利用了与众不同的场地要素,加强民间艺术、乡土建筑和有机产品等特质和身份,并引入适合山体和村庄环境的独特的休闲项目。

 

重新思考扎根于自然环境和日常生活的乡村典范

随着中国生态旅游增长的趋势,环境恶化和对游客趋之若鹜的乡村田园生活的干扰也将令人担忧。像何斯路景观规划这样有意识的途径可以为乡镇和乡村提供一张通往繁荣的地图。通过有意识地保护其瑰宝和拥抱新的收入模式,这些村落更有机会获得美好的未来。

 

以下是更多活动花絮:

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki English

Skip to content

Sasaki Presents at Shanghai Landscape Forum

Mark Dawson, FASLA, landscape architect and principal, and Dou Zhang, ASLA, landscape architect and director of Sasaki’s Shanghai office recently attended the Shanghai Landscape Forum. The Forum, initiated by Sasaki, AECOM and SWA in 2017, and currently organized by the three founding companies as well as a group of leading international landscape architecture practices operating in China (also including ASPECT Studios, SOM, TLS) was held in May 10th in Shanghai.

Zhang presented “Rediscover the Beauty of the Countryside,” an exploration of how landscape architecture can help preserve and celebrate traditional rural lifestyles while creating avenues for economic prosperity at the village-level.

Dawson delivered the closing remarks, encouraging the practitioners to think critically on issues of cultural heritage in landscape, and to embrace that today’s work builds the heritage of tomorrow.

The following is a synopsis of Zhang’s presentation.

Rediscover the Beauty of the Countryside

China’s countryside is faced with increasing challenges from encroaching urban sprawl and declining populations. The population decline is most clearly tied to residents immigrating to cities—a trend spurred on by a gap in living standards that continues to grow between cities and the countryside.

Civic leaders of these shrinking towns and villages have begun to find novel ways of promoting the values of their charming rural settings and traditional ways of life. Indeed, the industry of countryside tourism, or “eco-tourism,” is growing fast—especially in the regions abutting China’s major cities. Eco-tourism provides city-dwellers with unique opportunities to experience village life, and also serves as a modernizing catalyst for the countryside’s economy.

The benefits of this burgeoning industry, however, come with a host of challenges. How can villages protect their natural resources while simultaneously inviting more and more people to visit them? What toll will increased transit have on regional infrastructure, and how can the detrimental damages be mitigated? As of yet, there is no foolproof approach to initiating and promoting eco-tourism in a sustainable way. For the best chance of non-exploitative and long-term success, planners and designers must play a central role in establishing baseline best practices and preparing public spaces to withstand sudden influxes of tourists.

Hesilu Village Landscape Master Plan

Playing out a theme common across many of China’s smaller communities, Hesilu Village has suffered from decades of impoverished conditions, bringing many villagers to migrate cities for better job opportunities. In 2008, Mr. He, a new village leader, began to attract attention for Hesilu through promoting its lavender industry as a tourist attraction. In 2015, to build upon the initial successes of increased tourism, Mr. He contacted Sasaki to help create a holistic plan for the village’s future spatial and economic development.

As we began taking stock of Hesilu’s existing conditions, it was clear that its natural setting and agricultural landscape were truly unique assets. The village’s settlement pattern has long built upon this idyllic context, creating a remarkable showcase of rural culture and lifestyle. Respecting and protecting this rich environment, both natural and built, was critical to planning the future of this countryside.

Sasaki’s plan envisioned a Hesilu Village version of the “Chinese Dream”—the tagline for a national revival initiative laid forth by President Jinping Xi in 2012—by creating a destination for ecology, recreation, and education through celebrating the landscape and village culture. The spatial design concept is built upon such vision and unfolded through four story lines, mountain, water, flower, and village. The design connects and promotes the unique landscape features in the area while rediscovering the village culture as a spiritual legacy, enabling tourism as a major economic drive for the village. Local economy would further allow villagers to sustain a contemporary life style and enhance the overall quality of the village.

Aside from protecting the existing natural resources to reduce potential natural disasters, the design celebrated the distinguished site features, enhance the local characteristics and identity such as folk art, vernacular architecture and organic product, and introduce unique recreational programs fit in the mountain and village setting.

Rethinking of the Village Model Rooted in Natural Setting and Everyday Life

As China’s eco-tourism trend grows, so too will concerns of environmental degradation and disturbances to the very country idyll that tourists are vying for. An intentional approach, such as our landscape plan for Hesilu, can offer towns and villages a road map to prosperity. Through intentionally protecting their assets while embracing new revenue models, these communities can embrace greater opportunities for a brighter future.

See more photos of the event below: 

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki 中文