Skip to content

将十九世纪医疗园区重塑为充满活力的现代多功能园区

美国科罗拉多州印染山园区城市设计

业主
联盟印染之家合作伙伴
位置
美国科罗拉多州,科罗拉多斯普林斯市
规模
22公顷(55英亩)
专业领域
规划与城市设计
额外服务
建筑
公众参与
景观
可持续
现况
总体规划于2023年10月完成
荣获奖项
World Landscape Architecture Awards, Merit Award, Conceptual – Large Landscape Design category

联盟印染之家坐落在美国科罗拉多斯普林斯市中心,于1892年开放,是一座历史悠久的医疗园区。该场所旨在为美国国家印染联盟的肺结核与呼吸道疾病患者提供放松心情、医疗康复的地方。然而历经多次易主及长期疏于规划,这座拥有一百三十年历史的园区如今乏人问津。2021年,一群心怀社区的本地投资者来到这个废弃的院落, 着手保护该园区的历史风貌并为其注入新鲜活力。

印染山总体规划方案由 Sasaki 团队主导,通过保护与改造场地既有历史建筑和景观,着力打造与区域联系紧密且有机协同城市生态、经济、社会和文化发展的新区。此项管理工作将创造一个充满灵感与社区自豪感之地,实现场所历史文脉与现有城市肌理的深度融合。

场地文脉灵感

园内四座历史建筑——大名鼎鼎的古堡、两座宿舍楼和一座锅炉房——均保留十九和二十世纪遗留下来的建筑结构。该总体规划受到当地典型地理特征、源远流长的历史,以及现状地貌和建筑的启发,在实现历史建筑活化利用的同时,打造连通园区与城市的混合功能公共空间。

城市设计体量呼应弗兰特山脉峰谷交错的地形,将开发密度一直推至场地边缘,不但创建了重要地标,也为包括派克峰在内的山脉和焕然一新的历史核心创造一览无遗的通透视野。设计以不同尺度打造都市景观廊道和重要空间的门户入口,营造出探索氛围感。

由开放空间和交通枢纽连接的活跃核心区

印染山将形成“15分钟生活圈”:居民、办公人士和游客步行即可抵达住宅楼、办公楼、商店、餐馆、酒店等民生服务设施。借助周边公共空间功能强大且互联互通的优势,新核心集购物、酒店、餐饮和娱乐项目于一体,不但将成为印染山园区中心,更将成为科罗拉多斯普林斯市未来的活力目的地。项目包含打造一个位于场地内的交通枢纽,通过公共交通等多模态交通形式与城市连接,场地内亦被多样的慢行网络连通,打造名副其实的步行导向型街区。

迎宾通廊提供了从派克峰大道进入印染山的独特入口,是连接周边街道和印染山中心的主要开放空间。迎宾通廊在改造过程中保留了许多既有树木,让游客能够沉浸在绿树成荫的自然景观之中,拥有游玩探索的空间。该区设有林冠架空步道,让人们在保留树林中自由穿梭,亦能借此通往印染山中心空间、印染山公园和印染广场。

人们沿着人行天桥穿过印染山公园,经过迎宾草坪,就能抵达园区中心的印染山广场。此硬质景观公共广场设有水景、休憩座椅,以及离古堡不远的纪念型公共艺术作品。

水元素在场地塑造中的作用

该场地许多开放空间的灵感都源于水元素。从保护和改善迎宾通廊,到打造地区性雨水公园,水为人们带来充满活力、富有韧性、难忘迷人的景观体验。为实行全方位雨水战略性管理,该规划采用了分散分布的雨洪管理系统、低影响开发、以及绿色基础设施技术。

具纪念意义的集会场所:核心绿地

印染山核心绿地是位于印染山中心的中央广场,周围设有酒店、餐饮店、零售商店、酿酒厂、共享工作空间和私人住宅等多种功能设施。规划保留了广场往日连接老建筑的隧道,并将其改造成一个沉浸式的室外画廊,向人们展示该地源远流长的历史。

锅炉房是场地改造过程中保留下来的众多历史建筑之一,将被重塑为现代化社区枢纽,设立充满活力的美食大厅和创意办公空间。现状锅炉房的结构元素将被保留下来并重新改造利用,让新建筑与该场地的历史记忆共融共生。

连通前庭草坪和核心绿地,重塑到达场地的标志性序列空间

设计充分利用了现有的古堡门廊,让游客可以穿过新建的玻璃入口进入地面层,或沿着楼梯向上通往原入口。下层系列建筑带领游客穿过从古堡后方延伸出来的室内玻璃庭院——新冬季花园,由花园的开敞空间进入具有空间压迫感的古堡建筑将成为标志性的项目体验。

印染山联盟印染之家

想了解更多项目细节,请联系 Joshua BrooksMarta Guerra-Pastrián.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki English

Skip to content

Transforming a 19th-century campus dedicated to healthcare into a dynamic, mixed-use district

Printers Hill Master Plan

Client
Union Printers Home Partners
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Size
55 acres
Services
Planning and Urban Design
Additional Services
Architecture
Community Engagement
Landscape Architecture
Sustainability
Status
Master Plan completed October 2023

Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, the Union Printers Home is a historic healthcare campus that opened in 1892. The site was established for patients of the National Typological Union, who commonly suffered from tuberculosis and respiratory illnesses, as a place to relax, restore, and heal. Changes in ownership and decades of inattention had left the 130-year old campus abandoned until 2021, when a group of local civic-minded investors set out to protect the historic features and breathe new life into the site. 

Through the preservation and transformation of the site’s historic structures and existing landscape, the Sasaki-led master plan for Printers Hill offers the opportunity to create a regionally connected district that contributes ecologically, economically, socially, and culturally to its context. This stewardship will create a place of inspiration and community pride, stitching an authentic new district into the existing city fabric.

Inspired by place

The campus hosts four existing historic buildings, including the prominent “Castle”, two dormitory buildings, and a boiler building–all fitted with a palimpsest of 19th and 20th century infrastructure. The master plan creates adaptive reuse concepts for the existing buildings while introducing a mixed-use public realm that connects the new district with the city. The plan is inspired by the defining geological features of the region, the site’s rich history, and the existing topography and architecture. 

The development massing strategy evokes the peaks and valleys that characterize the Front Range, with development density pushed to the site’s edges, creating prominent landmarks and openings for views out to the mountains, to Pikes Peak, and toward the re-enlivened historic core. This instills a sense of discovery, crafting an urban environment that employs a variety of scales in gateways and thresholds to establish view corridors and entries to major spaces.

An active core connected by open space and transit

Printers Hill will become a 15-minute district that provides residents, workers, and visitors access to housing, office, retail, food and beverage, a hotel, and other civic functions all within a short walking distance. New development is organized around a robust and interconnected public realm— all leading to a vibrant new core offering shopping, hospitality, dining, and entertainment that serves as the heart of Printers Hill and will become a dynamic new destination within Colorado Springs. The entire site will be well-connected to active mobility options, including an on-site mobility hub, and will link to Colorado Springs through transit and multimodal connections, ensuring this can become a truly pedestrian-oriented district.  

Offering a unique entry to Printers Hill from Pikes Peak Avenue, the Grotto is the primary open space that connects the surrounding streets to the district core. Its dense canopy of trees, many of which will be preserved on-site through redevelopment, will immerse visitors into the natural landscape while providing space for exploration and play. The area features a canopy walk, elevating users to experience the existing heritage trees and providing connection to the site’s central spaces, Printers Hill Park and Printers Plaza. 

A pedestrian bridge guides visitors from Printers Hill Park, the welcoming lawn of the district, to the heart of the site, Printers Plaza. This hardscaped public plaza includes water features, seating areas, and opportunities for monumental public art just footsteps from the historic Castle building. 

Water as an Organizing Feature of the Site

From the preservation and enhancement of the existing Grotto to the inclusion of a district-wide stormwater park, water inspires many of the site’s open spaces to create a dynamic, resilient, and memorable landscape experience. The plan utilizes a holistic and strategic approach to managing stormwater through a decentralized and distributed stormwater system, as well as various low-impact development and green infrastructure techniques.

A memorable gathering place: The Quad

Surrounded by a variety of uses including a hotel, food and beverage offerings, retail shops, a brewery, coworking spaces, and private residences, the Quad is the central plaza sited at the heart of Printers Hill. The destination uncovers the site’s rich history by revealing the existing tunnels that formerly connected the historic buildings, and transforming them into an immersive outdoor gallery.

One of the many historic buildings being preserved throughout the site’s redevelopment, the Boiler Building will be reimagined into a modern community hub featuring a dynamic food hall and creative office spaces. The structural elements of the existing boiler will be salvaged and repurposed into architectural features that will anchor the new program into the site’s past.

Shaping an Iconic Arrival Sequence: Connecting the Front Lawn to the Quad

The design takes advantage of the existing Castle porch to allow users to enter at the ground level through a newly constructed glass entry volume or by moving up the stairs to the existing entry. The lower level sequence takes visitors through the new winter garden, a glass covered interior courtyard created by extending a new volume on the back side of the Castle. The sense of compression followed by the vast openness of the winter garden will be a hallmark experience within the project.

Union Printers Home at Printers Hill

For more information contact Joshua Brooks or Marta Guerra-Pastrián.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki 中文