Skip to content

创造大型后工业地区可持续转型的新典范,引领创新潮流

宝山中央钢铁公园

业主
上海市宝山区规划和自然资源局,上海宝地上实产城发展有限公司
位置
上海市宝山区
规模
研究范围12.2平方公里,景观设计范围102公顷
专业领域
景观
额外服务
规划与城市设计
荣获奖项
IFLA 2022 Honorable Mention
The PLAN Awards, Finalist, Public Space category
Fast Co. Innovation by Design Awards, Finalist—Urban Design category
MIPIM Asia, Silver Award, Best Futura Mega Project category

宝山钢铁公园将创造大型后工业地区可持续转型的新典范,预计将历时三十五年逐渐实施。项目通过恢复场地的环境价值、传承其独特的文化、以及建立城市主轴,来创造适应性的景观,把封闭的钢铁生产空间转化为生长的钢铁绿脉,既延续历史、又面向未来。

场地的空间序列建立在原宝钢不锈钢厂的场地肌理和生产流程的基础上。园内将提供多种多样既融合工业特色又可以无障碍到达的公共活动,服务于周边新的开发项目和现有社区,为所有人群营造公平共享的公共空间。

方案试图全方位地展示具有可持续性的规划设计,诠释项目的环境、社会和经济价值。公园将分期实施,使公园生态修复的进程与周边城市开发的节奏相耦合,以高效且有效地进行城市更新。作为城市后工业区改造更新的新典范,宝山钢铁公园走在了创新的最前列。

基地的历史变迁

宝山钢铁公园占地102公顷,位于原宝钢不锈钢厂所在地,是上海市最大的工业历史风貌保护街坊。这座钢铁厂曾是民族工业的光荣代表, 它的历史可以追溯到1938年建立的吴淞炼钢工坊。在80余年的发展历程中,它在中国的炼钢工业史上履创“第一”:1959年建成上海第一个炼铁高炉;2004年炼出第一炉碳钢;2006年成为迄今规模最大的不锈钢厂;2010年建立世界上第一个炼铁、炼钢、热轧、冷轧联合生产线。近年来,随着消除空气污染的呼声日益高涨,上海市越来越多的工业用地逐渐转变为生活用地,不锈钢厂也于2018年停产,诸多重型设备和大片棕地随之废置。如今,这片曾经的工业基地亟待重启与新生。

作为上海北部未来的副中心——吴淞创新城的一部分,钢铁公园将成为未来的城市绿轴,服务于蓄势待发的创意产业以及周边现有社区。

生长的钢铁绿脉——前重工业基地的华丽转型

本设计旨在打造适应性景观,把封闭的钢铁生产空间转化为生长的钢铁绿脉。

新钢铁公园的空间序列将建立在原钢铁厂的场地肌理和生产流程的基础上。公园最重要的两条人行通道——钢铁大道和钢铁之旅分别由原工厂中地面和空中的传输系统转化而成。它们串联了由原生产组团改造而成的不同主题的六大钢铁花园。由原工业设施改造而成的一系列重要公共建筑——钢铁触媒,与贯穿公园南北的钢铁平台嵌套在一起,形成每个钢铁花园中最重要的人流聚集地。

随着就地植物修复和植被演替与时俱进,公园也将逐渐建设成为重要的绿色基础设施和多元的城市栖息地。周边再开发项目的实施计划将与公园建设的进度相协调,以激活新区,打造一个高度融合的城市目的地。

可持续规划设计的范例

公园的规划设计主要采用了三大策略:

恢复场地的环境价值,打造绿色基础设施

  • 祛除污染。现有土壤和地下水都曾受到不同程度的污染。厂区内受重度污染的土壤将被运至场地外进行修复;受中度污染的土壤将被集中堆放在场地内的重金属花园中,利用超富集植物进行修复;受轻度污染的土壤将留在原位,利用超富集植物进行修复。
  • 创造城市栖息地。现状植被斑块分布零散且品种单一、河道两岸硬质化,使场地的生态价值非常有限。设计将恢复近自然森林、创造连续的林斑、恢复河岸湿地、建设连通生态走廊的景观桥,以创造一个区域生态网络,并为哺乳动物、爬行动物、鸟类、两栖动物和无脊椎动物提供多种城市栖息地。
  • 创造城市碳汇。公园建成后将为城市贡献一个重要的碳汇。园内植被每年将吸收至少7,000吨的二氧化碳,高于在所有环绕和穿越公园的路段上由汽车交通所产生的年碳排放总量。
  • 管理雨水。设计将雨水花园、生态草沟、和透水铺装整合到所有公共街道和公园系统中,并拆除河道两侧的硬质驳岸、恢复河岸湿地,用以滞留超过16,000立方米的雨水,使雨水年径流总量控制率达到85%。收集到的雨水将被重新利用,为场地内的特色水景、消防栓、道路清洁等提供水源。
  • 改善城市风热环境。钢铁公园将不仅发挥城市冷岛的功效,还兼具区域性风廊的作用——可以将夏季凉爽的风自黄埔江引入内陆,为周边社区降温1-3℃。公园的空间布局允许夏季盛行风长驱直入,并利用常绿树挡住冬季寒风的肆虐,以创造舒适的微气候、延长人们的户外活动季节。
  • 实现能源自给。现状建筑、道路、设备、和构筑物将被改造为服务于公园的功能,以最大程度减少由于新的建设而带来的隐碳。通过建筑和构筑物上的光伏薄膜收集到的太阳能,将足以覆盖公园内所有户外照明所需的用电,除此之外还将有25%的富余电量可以进入电网。所有园内建筑都将按照净零模式运营。

保留独特的文化,重塑钢铁公园

  • 唤醒工业遗迹。根据区域总体规划以及现状工业设备和设施的特点,设计最大程度地保留了所有的工业遗迹,并根据其不同特点建议了新的用途和改造方式。原钢铁厂的主要服务道路被保存下来、用作贯穿整个公园的主园路——钢铁大道。公园内部的铁路和传输系统则将被改造成钢铁之旅,钢铁瞭望台穿插其间,形成地面和空中的工业游览线路。中型工业设施将被改建成钢铁触媒,形成公园中的主要目的地;大型工厂建筑则将转化成超级工坊,容纳多种创意产业;肩负不同功能的生产组团经过改造转型,将成为六个不同主题的钢铁花园。
  • 设置可供所有人使用的活动内容。园内将提供多种多样既融合了工业特色又可以无障碍到达的公共活动,服务于周边新的开发项目和现有社区,为所有人群营造公平共享的公共空间。六个钢铁花园各具特色,构成了有机统一的钢铁公园。社区生活段位于原镀锡板厂地块,方案希望将它打造成社区活力场。艺术体验段利用原有废水处理地块的围合式格局,与周边的上大美院相协同,创造花园中的艺术展群。自然体验段位于后工业区,在保留原有树木资源的基础上进行近自然森林复育。工业博物段保留了与炼铁相关的全套工业设备,使这里成为展示工业辉煌过往的窗口。工业修复段位于现状污染最为严重的烧结区,设计希望将其打造为先进的植物修复技术示范园。滨江生活段将硬质的集装箱码头改建为滨江绿地,在黄浦江沿岸弘扬可再生能源和可持续的生活方式。

建立城市主轴,承载日常生活

  • 加大公园尺度。设计建议将多数拟开发项目挪至公园以外,以保留更多的工业遗迹、增加更多绿化、并减少建筑物阴影对公园带来的不利影响,营造新区的开放空间主轴。相邻开发地块内的高层建筑都被布置在离公园较远的一侧,使更多的阳光可以洒入公园,为人们创造舒适的户外体验。
  • 改善交通系统。在区域交通分析的基础上,方案制定了一系列交通组织措施以提高道路通行效率。借助这些措施,设计取消了区域总体规划中十条穿越公园的道路、提倡公共交通和慢行交通,并建议修建五座跨越主干道和次干道的景观桥,以创造更加连续的使用体验和更高的野生动物栖息地价值。同时,各道路的设计也为日后切换到无人驾驶时代预留了灵活性。
  • 融合公共空间。通过引入景观桥、完整街道、交织的开发地块和开放空间,设计将公共绿地、街道、建筑退界、建筑底层、空中走廊等融合成一体化的公共空间网络。

实施计划

如此宏大的一个项目,需要有计划地分期实施。根据场地上土壤污染及植被零散、品种单一的现状,方案制定了一个使公园建设与生态恢复进程以及城市开发节奏相耦合的分期实施计划。目标是到2055年形成一个相互连通的公共空间系统和成熟的双创城区。

本设计在“中央钢铁公园及周边区域景观设计”国际方案征集中荣膺榜首,并获得了当地政府及各利益相关方的高度认可。作为城市后工业区改造更新项目的新典范,宝山钢铁公园正走在创新的最前列。

想了解更多项目细节,请联系 张斗.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki English

Skip to content

Setting a new model for the sustainable transformation of a large post-industrial site

Baoshan Steel Park

Client
Shanghai Baoshan District Planning and Nat Resources Bur, Shanghai Baodishang Real Estate Development Co., Ltd
Location
Baoshan District, Shanghai
Size
Research Area 12.2 square kilometer, Urban Design Area 102 hectare

Baoshan Steel Park, which will be implemented over the next 35 years, sets a new model for the sustainable transformation of a large post-industrial site. By restoring the site’s environmental value, preserving its unique culture, and creating a main urban axis, the plan proposes an adaptive landscape which will transform an enclosed steel production place into a growing green artery, preserving its memory while embracing the future.

The spatial structure of the park builds upon the site’s fabric and historical manufacturing processes of the Baoshan Stainless Steel plant. Diverse programs in the park, integrated with the industrial features and made universally accessible, will complement planned uses in adjacent developments as well as the existing communities in the district, offering equal opportunities to all groups of people.

The plan aims to become a full spectrum demonstration of sustainable planning and design, exemplifying the project’s environmental, social, and economic values. Phased implementation couples the progress of eco-restoration and the development in the district, supporting an efficient and effective regeneration process.

Site Evolution

The 102-hectare Baoshan Steel Park is located at the site of the former Baoshan Stainless Steel Plant, a protected historical site in Shanghai representing the national industry of China. The steel plant, which began as Wusong Steelmaking Workshop in 1938, has evolved over 80 years and created many firsts in China’s steelmaking industry, including the first ironmaking furnace in Shanghai in 1959, the first carbon steel manufacturer in 2004, the largest stainless-steel plant since 2006, and in 2010, the world’s first joint production line of ironmaking, steelmaking, hot rolling, and cold rolling. With pressure mounting to reduce air pollution and reclaim industrial land for civic uses in Shanghai, the plant closed in 2018, leaving behind large quantities of heavy equipment and extensive brownfields. This historic industrial site is ready to start a new chapter.

As part of the future Wusong Innovation District, a new sub-center in northern Shanghai, the site is positioned as the district’s urban green axis, serving the prospective creative industries as well as existing communities in the surrounding neighborhood.

A Growing Green Artery – a Transformative Plan of a Former Heavy Industry Site

The design proposes an adaptive landscape which will transform an enclosed steel production place into a growing green artery.

The reimagined steel park builds its spatial structure upon the original manufacturing processes and site fabric. Major pedestrian paths transformed from on-ground and elevated conveyor systems, (called the Steel Path and Steel Journeys) link the parks’ six themed zones (the Steel Gardens) which follow the original six production clusters. Steel Catalysts, a set of key public buildings repurposed from existing structures, anchor the programs in each garden at the Steel Platform, which links the park’s north and south perimeters.

The park intends to grow over time while onsite phytoremediation and plant succession take place, building a major green infrastructure and a variety of urban habitats. The phasing of the proposed redevelopments will be coupled with the progress of the park construction, to catalyze the new district and create an integrated urban destination.

Demonstration of Sustainable Planning and Design

Three major strategies are adapted in the park planning process.

Restore site’s environmental value to create a green infrastructure for the new district

  • Decontaminate the site. The existing soil and groundwater had been contaminated to various degrees. The plan will remove heavily contaminated soil and remediate off-site, concentrate moderately contaminated soil to remediate at hyper-accumulator gardens onsite, and remediate lightly polluted soil in place with hyper-accumulator plants.
  • Create habitat. The monoculture of the fragmented existing green patches and the hard edge of the canals provide very limited ecological value. The plan restores near-natural forest, grows continuous woodland, restores wetland along the riverfront, and builds land bridges to link ecological corridors, to create a regional ecological network and diverse urban habitats for mammals, reptiles, birds, amphibians, and invertebrates.
  • Create urban carbon sink. The park will contribute an important carbon sink to the city. Vegetation in the park will sequester over 7,000 tons of carbon emissions per year, exceeding the amount of annual emission from the traffic over the perimeter and crossing streets of the park.
  • Manage stormwater. Rain gardens, bio-swales, and permeable paving will be integrated along all public streets and inside the park, and wetlands will replace the hard-edged existing waterfronts, to detain over 16,000 m3 of stormwater on site, reaching 85% total control rate of the annual runoff. The collected rainwater can be reused as water sources for water features, fire hydrants, road cleaning, etc.
  • Improve wind and thermal environment. The park will work not only as an urban cold island, but also as a regional ventilation corridor from Huangpu River to the inland, reducing temperature in the surrounding neighborhood by one to three degrees Celsius. The plan orients park spaces to welcome prevailing wind in summer, and block wind in winter with the help of evergreen trees, creating a comfortable microclimate and prolonging the outdoor season.
  • Achieve energy self-sufficiency. The existing buildings, roads, equipment, and site structures will be repurposed for park uses to minimize embedded energy. Solar power harvested through the integrated photovoltaic membranes on site structures will cover the annual electricity usage of site lighting completely, with 25% surplus to return to the grid. All buildings in the park are to operate in a net-zero model.

Preserve the unique culture to create a reimagined steel park

  • Activate industrial remnants. Based on the district master plan and characteristics of the existing industrial equipment and facilities, the plan preserves all the industrial history to the greatest extent possible and proposes new uses and ways of transformation. The main service road will be preserved and converted into the main path through the park, the Steel Path; the network of internal railroads and conveyors will be turned into Steel Journeys punctuated by Steel Viewing Towers, providing a ground and elevated industrial tour. The medium-sized factory buildings will be renovated to Steel Catalysts, creating major public destinations in the park, while large factory buildings converted to Super Workshops holding various innovation industries; and the manufacturing clusters are to be transformed into six program zones, the Steel Gardens.
  • Provide programs for all groups of people. Diverse programs in the park, integrated with the industrial features and made universally accessible, will complement planned uses in adjacent developments and the existing communities in the district, offering equal opportunities to all groups of people. Six unique Steel Gardens together compose a coherent steel park. The Community Life turns the former tin-plated steel cluster into a vigorous community place. The Art Experience transforms the compartment yards of the wastewater treatment cluster into a series of art gardens in a collaboration with nearby Shanghai University School of Fine Art. The Nature Experience restores existing nurseries to near-natural forest in the post-industrial site. The Industry Showcase preserves the complete set of ironmaking equipment as an exhibit of the site’s past glory, while the Industry Remediation Garden in the most-polluted sintering area demonstrates the state-of-the-art phytoremediation technology. The Waterfront Life Garden turns the hard-surfaced container port into a green space celebrating renewable energy and sustainable lifestyles along Huangpu River.

Create the main urban axis to play a critical role in people’s daily life

  • Increase the scale of the park. By moving most of the proposed development programs away from the park, the plan allows more industrial remnants to remain, more green spaces and less shade from buildings, to create a main open space axis for the new district. The towers in the nearby development parcels are arranged to the far side, to allow for more sunlight into the park, providing the community a comfortable outdoor experience.
  • Refine traffic system. With the help of a series of traffic organization measures informed by traffic analysis of the larger district, the plan eliminates ten cross streets in the district master plan, promotes public transportation and slow traffic, and proposes five land bridges over primary and secondary roads to provide more continuous experience and higher wildlife habitat value. Its road design also allows flexibility for easy transition into the driverless transportation era.
  • Integrate public spaces. The plan integrates all public green spaces, streets, building setbacks, building ground floor, and second-floor corridors into a holistic public realm network by introducing land bridges, complete streets, and interwoven development and open spaces.

Plan Implementation

Such an ambitious project needs to be implemented in phases. Informed by the existing soil contamination and fragmented vegetation in monoculture, the park will be constructed in phases coupled with the progress of eco-restoration and the development in the district. The plan is to complete an interconnected public realm system and a mature innovation district by 2055.

The design has won the first place of the park design competition and been well received by local authorities and stakeholders. As a new model for urban post-industrial site regeneration, Baoshan Steel Park is leading the way.

For more information contact Dou Zhang.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki 中文