Skip to content

得奖的综合策略报告书引领波士顿抵抗气候变化

波士顿气候变化应对策略

业主
波士顿市政府
位置
美国麻州波士顿市
规模
90 square miles
Team
Arcadis, HR&A, University of Massachusetts Boston
专业领域
景观
规划与城市设计
现况
Completed 2016
荣获奖项
American Planning Association, National Planning Achievement Award for Resilience — Gold

《波士顿气候变化应对策略(Climate Ready Boston)》 是一份针对沿海及沿河地区泛滥、洪涝灾害与极端天气而提出应对措施的报告书。这份路线图将引领波士顿成为一个更强而有力、且能抵御气候变化的城市,当中所列策略旨在减轻未来环境变化而引起的种种风险,更重要的是点出了投资在气候变化抵御措施所带来的多种好处——缓解灾害风险,对创造美好的城市生活大有裨益;这样一来,抗灾措施将成为促进社会平等和经济发展的工具,有助于缔造健康生活方式,重现更多绿色空间。

波士顿的历史与海岸线的发展一直唇齿相依。在建市初年,波士顿通过填海造地而扩大版图,此举为住宅区和商业区同时创造了更多面积,但随着近年来海平面日趋上升,海岸线也在不停变化,随之而来的洪灾风险都驱使人们向内陆迁移。虽然如此,“水”本身并非单一的风险源头,极端气温和热浪侵袭都对公共健康构成越来越大的威胁,年轻人以及老弱伤病者更是高危群众。

有鉴于此,《波士顿气候变化应对策略》以长远的气候变化为前提,引导波士顿作出具有抗灾力的城市发展。《策略》分为三大部分:“气候项目共识”,此部分由波士顿研究咨询小组(Boston Research Advisory Group)进行;“灾害影响评估”;及“抗灾计划”。完整报告由工程咨询公司凯迪思(Arcadis)、Sasaki、顾问公司HR&A以及麻州大学波士顿分校所组成的跨专业团队于2016年12月完成并发表。

上文提及的“灾害影响评估”以最新的科学预测为基础,分析气候灾害对波士顿居民、建筑物、基础设施以及经济活动所带来的潜在影响。这部分详列各种气候灾害,并且就极端高温天气、洪涝、海平面上升、沿海及沿河地区泛滥等状况构成的风险给出量化信息。若不及时采取应对措施,面临洪灾威胁的居民、商业活动、建筑物和基础设施系统只会有增无减。举例而言,到2070年代,每年因沿海及沿河地区泛滥所造成的经济损失可达14亿美元,届时如发生百年一遇洪灾(亦即严重灾害),由此而起的洪泛问题可波及波士顿近一成半人口(约88,000人),使全市一成的K-12学校(即幼儿园、小学和中学)、32个地铁站、240个基本公共服务站(警察局、消防局和救护站)备受牵连影响,许多疏散路线也必须予以配合。不止于此,不断增加的酷热日子——一年有近90天的气温可高达摄氏32度——也将构成严重健康风险,在气候变化的种种影响下,市内因极端高温而死亡的人数将增加两倍。环境的剧变将在不同范畴产生影响,Sasaki逐一分析研究,了解城市中弱势居民所承受的压力和威胁。

在广泛层面,Sasaki也为《策略》制定了品牌概念和相关平面设计元素。颜色搭配、项目标识和整体平面设计风格,赋予人们正面乐观的信息,也鼓舞大家把气候变化应对措施视为缔造美好城市的契机。由 Sasaki设计的一系列项目地图和图表,旨在以简单易懂的方式,把繁复的意念向广大受众清晰传达。

“抗灾计划”从政策制定、规划设计、功能配置和经济角度出发,对“灾害影响评估”所列举的风险提出实际的应对策略,各种策略将发挥相互作用,提高波士顿的抗灾能力。通过不同尺度和层面入手,这些策略可帮助各个社区应付灾害与建立联系,保护海岸地区,提升基础设施和建筑物的抗灾力和适应力。具体措施包括利用气候变化应对策略,促进公平的经济发展;加强向波士顿居民宣扬气候变化信息,提升民众的行动力;推动绿色基础设施和其他自然系统的普及使用,借此实施雨洪水管理,缓解炎热天气的影响。整体而言,项目目标希望投放的资源不仅能缓解气候变化引起的灾害,亦为普罗大众、尤其是弱势群体提供更高生活质量。

《波士顿气候变化应对策略》由波士顿市政府领导,绿丝带委员会(Green Ribbon Commission)协同参与,并由国家海岸地区管理部麻州办事处提供协助。请浏览波士顿市政府网站查阅报告书完整内容: https://www.boston.gov/departments/environment/climate-ready-boston

想了解更多项目细节,请联系 Jill Allen Dixon.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki English

Skip to content

An award-winning comprehensive strategy to guide the city of Boston towards a more resilient future

Climate Ready Boston

Client
City of Boston
Location
Boston, MA
Size
90 square miles
Team
Arcadis, HR&A, University of Massachusetts Boston
Services
Landscape Architecture
Planning and Urban Design
Status
Completed 2016
Awards
American Planning Association, National Planning Achievement Award for Resilience — Gold

Climate Ready Boston is a roadmap for creating a stronger, more resilient city. Focusing on coastal and riverine flooding, stormwater flooding, and extreme temperatures, the plan identifies strategies to mitigate future risks for our changing environment. Importantly, the strategies look for opportunities for resilience investments to be multi-benefit—addressing hazard mitigation and contributing more broadly to improved quality of life in our city. In this way, resilience becomes a tool for advancing social equity, promoting economic development, and improving opportunities for healthy living and access to green space.

Historically, the story of Boston has been tied to a changing coastline. In Boston’s early years, land fill projects expanded the city outward, creating new land for expanding neighborhoods and commercial areas. Now, with rising seas, the coastline—and flood risk—is changing course and migrating inland. Water, however, isn’t the only risk. Extreme temperatures and heat waves pose significant increasing threats for public health, especially for youth, older residents, and others with preexisting health conditions that make them especially vulnerable to heat.

 

Climate Ready Boston is an initiative to plan for how the city will continue to thrive while adapting to long-term climate change. It has three main components: climate project consensus (completed by the Boston Research Advisory Group), vulnerability assessment, and resilience initiatives. An interdisciplinary team of Arcadis, Sasaki, HR&A Advisors, and the University of Massachusetts Boston completed the report in December 2016.

Building on the latest scientific projections, the vulnerability assessment analyzes how Boston’s people, buildings, infrastructure, and economy will be affected by climate hazards. The analysis maps hazards and quantifies risks from extreme heat, stormwater flooding, sea level rise, and coastal and riverine flooding. Without action, an increasing number of residents, businesses, buildings, and infrastructure systems will be exposed to flooding. For example, by the 2070s, annualized losses from coastal and riverine flooding could amount to $1.4 billion, and exposure to flooding in a 1% annual chance flood (a severe event) could include 14% of Boston’s population (88,000 people), 10% of the city’s K-12 schools, 32 MBTA stations, 240 essential public facilities (law enforcement stations, fire stations, and EMS), and sections of many evacuation routes. In addition, more days of extreme heat—up to 90 days a year about 90 degrees—will pose significant health risks. Mortality rates due to extreme heat are expected to triple with the impacts of climate change in Boston. Sasaki examined the impacts these environmental shocks and stresses could have on vulnerable populations in the city.

More broadly, Sasaki developed the Climate Ready Boston graphic brand and identity. The color choices, project logo, and overall graphic style focus on setting an optimistic, hopeful tone, reinforcing the need to view climate adaptation as a broader opportunity for a better city. Sasaki designed the project maps and graphs, focusing on clearly communicating complex ideas to a broad audience.

Addressing the risks identified in the vulnerability assessment, the resilience initiatives include policy, planning, programmatic, and financial strategies that work together to increase Boston’s resilience. Addressing the multiple scales and layers of resilience, the resilience initiatives focus on prepared and connected communities, protected shores, resilient infrastructure, and adapted buildings. Strategies include leveraging climate adaptation as a tool for equitable economic development, expanding education and engagement of Bostonians on climate hazards and action, and expanding the use of green infrastructure and other natural systems to manage stormwater and mitigate heat. An overarching goal is to ensure investments in reducing risk will also be contributing to higher quality of life in the city—especially for its most vulnerable residents.

Climate Ready Boston is led by the City of Boston in partnership with the Green Ribbon Commission and with support from the Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management. The Climate Ready Boston report is available on the city’s website.

For more information contact Jill Allen Dixon.

Sasaki colorful logo Sasaki 中文